Parish Council 2021

Shipbourne Parish Council has 7 Councillors; each elected to serve for a 4-year term. The Councillors are unpaid and work within a strict Code of Conduct to maintain the quality of life in the parish of Shipbourne. The Council forms the first tier of local government and has a duty and powers to administrate various aspects of village life. Amongst other responsibilities it is informed of and comments on planning issues through Tonbridge & Malling Borough Council; it maintains the Churchyard and possesses the freeholds of the Village Hall and Dunks Green Common.

The Parish Council usually meets on the second Monday of each month (except in August when there is no meeting) in the Village Hall at 7.30pm. Actual meeting dates are carried in the Minutes and in the Newsletter. Residents are welcome to attend these meetings to seek advice or discuss village issues.

The Clerk is the Responsible Financial Officer. The Parish Council receives its funding from Tonbridge & Malling BC through  a  Precept which is an element of the Council Tax. In addition, the Parish Council is able to raise additional funding for special projects.

The members of the Parish Council are shown below along with the Clerk to whom all matters concerning the council should be addressed.

End OF YEAR ACCOUNTS 2019/2020

Shipbourne Parish Council has now concluded year end 2019-20 and publishes below the documents as required by the Accounts and Audit Regulations 2015, the Local Audit (Smaller Authorities) Regulations 2015 and the Transparency Code for Smaller Authorities

Certificate of Exemption AGAR 2019-20

AGAR 2020  (Annual Internal Audit Report, Annual Governance Statement, Accounting Statements 2019-20)

Bank Reconciliation 2019-20

Exercise of Public Rights 2019-20

Explanation of variances 2019-2020


Notice of Public Rights

Certificate of Exemption 2019

Annual Governance

Accounting Statement 2019

Bank Reconciliation Year End 18-19

Internal Auditor Report


Please email the Parish Clerk for copies of previous annual returns.

Shipbourne Parish Clerk

Mrs Sarah Huseyin
Gable Cottage, Ismays Road, Ightham, TN15 9BE
01732 886402

e-mail: [email protected]

Shipbourne Parish Council Members – May 2020 Click View to see Disclosable Pecuniary Interests

Nick Tyler  (Chair) 01732 811079 View

Valerie Redman

(Vice Chair)

07745 463130 View
Jennifer Bate 01732 810582 View
Peter Leach 07889 362462 View
Sandy Oram 01732 811494 View
James Sheldrick 01732 810721 View
Alice Dagger 07825 941735 View

For website amendments and corrections please email [email protected]

TMBC Borough Councillors

The elected councillors for our ward of Borough Green and Long Mill are:
Cllr Wendy Palmer 0774 8633200 [email protected]
Cllr Tim Shaw 01732 883375 @
Cllr Mike Taylor 01732 882880 mike.taylor

Kent County Councillor

Our Kent County Councillor for the Malling West Ward is:
Harry Rayner 01732 885200 [email protected]

Member of Parliament

Our MP for the constituency of Tonbridge and Malling is:
Tom Tugendhat MBE MP 0207 219 4727

House of Commons,
London SW1A 0AA

Skip to content